The Canon GL2
I'm ready to buy the Canon GL2, but I don't know if I want to get it before or after Gnomedex. And, more importantly, I'm not sure who I should buy it from. “Best Price Audio Video dot-com” has a lousy name, but they have a great price on the unit. I'd just as soon buy it online than go local this time around. Anybody out there ever deal with this company before, personally or professionally? I can't find any red flags on Epinions, BizRate, Reseller Ratings, or PriceGrabber. I suppose that's a good thing. Still, I thought I'd throw this out there – just in case the reviews I've been reading are inaccurate. And if you're “in the business,” I might just buy it from you instead. I'm that kind of guy – provided the price and package are purchase-perfect.
Using GoToAssist is the easiest way to view and control another person's computer online. Use it to provide instant technical support to family, friends and customers. Start a session with just one click, and instantly connect with the other party.





13 Comments
Anonymous
August 11th, 2002
at 5:53pm
I have used this company to purchase a canon DV about 10 months ago. I had a great experience with these guys. Also, I love the show (CFH)!
Good luck
Anonymous
August 11th, 2002
at 6:16pm
Wow! 2300 dollars! That's 400 dollars cheaper than on amazon and 600 dollars cheaper than list price! You probably won't find a better price, but then again, anythings possible. Well, if you found it used, either at amazon or half.com, you might find it for 2000, but it's brand new so I doubt you'll find a good used price.
Anonymous
August 11th, 2002
at 6:39pm
wow, nice camera. big change from not wanting to invest more than a grand!! ;)
Anonymous
August 11th, 2002
at 7:10pm
Nice cam, have no idea if that's really a good price though as I've never priced DV cams before, just digital still cameras. I wish ya the best of luck with it Chris.
Anonymous
August 11th, 2002
at 7:12pm
I wish Tom and I had that camera to do the interviews with…oh well ;x It's all good.
Anonymous
August 11th, 2002
at 7:38pm
chris
i did a search on pricegrabber.com and it seems like at http://www.infinitycameras.com/prod.asp?prodid=GL-2
they are selling for $1850.maybe u might wanna take a look.just a suggestion.
anyways good luck with the purchase.
Anonymous
August 11th, 2002
at 7:49pm
sorry chris i think u should not buy from http://www.infinitycameras.com/prod.asp?prodid=GL-2
i read reviews on the web and peoople rate them preety bad.they try to scam people by using other tactics even though the price maybe a bit cheaper than other places.
u can read the reviews by some disgruntled customers here
http://www.resellerratings.com/seller2684.html
i guess i should have checked the reviews before posting a suggestion.
sorry about that.
Anonymous
August 11th, 2002
at 9:05pm
If I haven't mentioned it before, I love the layout. I could sit here all day and find “little goodies” and what not. For instance, when you mouse over the question mark caption button, it shows the time and date of the post (easier and more in depth than the 24 hour time..) Great stuff Chris.
Anonymous
August 11th, 2002
at 9:06pm
Oh, and try to buy the camera before Gnomedex. I'd love to see some footage.. =]
Anonymous
August 13th, 2002
at 4:28pm
I bought somethings there once. :) Good service. Sometimes shipping is off but everything else is great.
Anonymous
August 16th, 2002
at 9:30am
Chris, love your show, lockergnome, and the blog. I bit the proverbial bullet just recently and entrusted a large chunk of my kids' lunch money in a digicam from bestpriceaudiovideo. Everything went EXACTLY as they said it would, no pressure to upgrade or purchase extra stuff, no bait and switch, just a great, easy experience. Highly recommended.
Anonymous
September 6th, 2002
at 11:22pm
my ex-girlfriend bought a GL-1 from best-price and was extremely happy with them. She left a voicemail for a sales guy telling him exactly what she wanted (in an accessory package similar to what her boss had purchased) and the price she wanted to pay (about $1000 off of list) and the sales guy called her back saying “you win the prize for knowing exactly what you want” and gave her the whole thing for the price she wanted. Great company. go for it.
Michael
March 24th, 2007
at 4:35pm
Hi,
I just thought I would add a little experience…I went on a couple of those sites where they try to sell you the initial camera for almost nothing and then lump onto it inflated prices for accessories. They really don’t like it if you say you just want the camera and not the accessories and cancel your order! I guess it is best to go with companies you and others trust, checking out their reviews too. But hey, even they can be false too.
Michael