Holidays – Chris Pirillo http://chris.pirillo.com Geek Culture & Tech Expert: How Can I Help You Today? Thu, 22 Feb 2018 18:05:15 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.8 https://i1.wp.com/chris.pirillo.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/cropped-37b9d6c24a61d1dd94c262aae9077715.png?fit=32%2C32 Holidays – Chris Pirillo http://chris.pirillo.com 32 32 Geek Culture & Tech Expert: How Can I Help You Today? Holidays – Chris Pirillo Geek Culture & Tech Expert: How Can I Help You Today? Holidays – Chris Pirillo http://chris.pirillo.com/wp-content/plugins/powerpress/rss_default.jpg http://chris.pirillo.com/category/holidays/ 32776375 Happy Cook Something Bold Day http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/11/09/happy-cook-something-bold-day/ Sat, 09 Nov 2013 08:14:26 +0000 http://chris.pirillo.com/?p=39992 Today is Cook Something Bold Day, and I’m hoping Diana will make some of that fabulous green salsa with tomatillos in it! Since you can’t get any, I recommend grabbing this stuff, instead.

Happy Cook Something Bold Day

]]>
39992
Happy World Pasta Day http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/10/25/happy-world-pasta-day/ Fri, 25 Oct 2013 18:31:08 +0000 http://chris.pirillo.com/?p=39858 Continue reading Happy World Pasta Day ]]> Ever suffered 40 lashes with a wet noodle? Maybe it was just the common punishment for pint-sized misdemeanors when I was growing up, but I can’t help but hope that this rich tradition of minor affliction in the face of tiny crimes has lived on.

For those who decry my seemingly sadomasochistic sentimentality, 40 lashes with a wet noodle don’t actually hurt — but you can serve the noodle for dinner afterwards without dessert if you really want a kid to rethink the choices of his or her so-far short lifetime.

And when you run out of wet noodles, you can just make more.

Happy World Pasta Day!

Happy World Pasta Day

]]>
39858
Happy National Boss’ Day http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/10/16/happy-national-boss-day/ Wed, 16 Oct 2013 22:41:13 +0000 http://chris.pirillo.com/?p=39754 Today is National Boss’ Day, depending on where you live. And if you live in Hazzard County, make sure Hogg’s not the boss of you.

Hogg's not the boss of me.

]]>
39754
Government Shutdowns and National Holidays http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/10/15/government-shutdowns-and-national-holidays/ Wed, 16 Oct 2013 00:16:29 +0000 http://chris.pirillo.com/?p=39748 If a national holiday happens during a government shutdown and no one’s around to make it official, does it still get celebrated?

Government Shutdowns and National Holidays

]]>
39748
Happy Bartolome de las Casas Day http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/10/14/bartolome-day/ http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/10/14/bartolome-day/#comments Mon, 14 Oct 2013 21:29:15 +0000 http://chris.pirillo.com/?p=39731 Continue reading Happy Bartolome de las Casas Day ]]> Officially, today is Columbus Day in the United States. The Oatmeal proposes that we ditch Columbus entirely and make it Bartolome de las Casas Day, instead, and offers more than a few compelling ideas why. What do you think?

This isn’t the first time The Oatmeal has made us rethink a thing or two. Here’s another quality example of The Oatmeal’s brilliance.

Happy Bartolome de las Casas Day

]]>
http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/10/14/bartolome-day/feed/ 1 39731
Celebrate Bald and Free Day Captain Picard Style http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/10/07/celebrate-bald-and-free-day-captain-picard-style/ Mon, 07 Oct 2013 16:00:34 +0000 http://chris.pirillo.com/?p=39650 In celebration of National Bald and Free Day, we embrace Captain Jean-Luc Picard and his favorite drink: Tea, Earl Grey, Hot! Of course, you don’t have a replicator, so you’ll have to scoop out this blend into your favorite looseleaf brewer.

Celebrate Bald and Free Day Captain Picard Style

]]>
39650
Happy Crush a Can Day! http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/09/27/happy-crush-a-can-day/ Sat, 28 Sep 2013 02:29:34 +0000 http://chris.pirillo.com/?p=39531 Today is Crush a Can Day. Can anyone tell me where I left my bottle of Tylenol?

Happy Crush a Can Day!

]]>
39531
Does This Tutu Make Me Look Fat? http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/09/23/does-this-tutu-make-me-look-fat/ Mon, 23 Sep 2013 19:45:37 +0000 http://chris.pirillo.com/?p=39457 Would this Halloween costume look better on me than my Stormtrooper suit?

Does This Tutu Make Me Look Fat?

]]>
39457
Medieval Peasants Vacationed More Than Most of Us http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/09/02/medieval-peasants-vacation/ Tue, 03 Sep 2013 02:26:54 +0000 http://chris.pirillo.com/?p=39110 Economist Juliet Shor says that a medieval peasant got more vacation time than you (but still less than Congress).

Happy Labor Day!

Medieval Peasants Vacationed More Than Most of Us

]]>
39110
A Fine Labor Day to You http://chris.pirillo.com/2013/09/02/a-fine-labor-day-to-you/ Mon, 02 Sep 2013 17:03:03 +0000 http://chris.pirillo.com/?p=39078 Labor Day? Sounds like work.

#ItsATrap

A Fine Labor Day to You

]]>
39078