YouTube Unlisted Videos Work Well for Teachers

Melinda is a teacher in the Bay Area whose class created videos as part of a project. She and her students wanted to be able to share their media with friends and family, but no one wanted the videos to be made public. Melinda decided to reach out to YouTube to ask for a solution. The folks behind the scenes waved a magic wand, and introduced us to the “Unlisted” option today.

When you upload a video to YouTube, you can now choose from three options, instead of the usual two. In the past, you could make your video public, or share it with only twenty five people. However, even with the limited number of views the content would still show up on search engines and in the user’s home page. With the Unlisted feature, everything has changed.

When you choose the Unlisted option, you will be given a direct link to the video. It will not appear in any of the public pages, in search results or on your personal page. It’s essentially a private video – only accessible to people who possess that direct link. Keep in mind that everyone who has the link can watch whatever content you have uploaded, so only give it out to people you trust.

There are no view limits with the Unlisted option, and having an actual YouTube account isn’t required. YouTube spokesperson Chris Dale says: “Unlisted videos are treated just like any other YouTube video on YouTube and are subject to the same Community Guidelines and DMCA complaint procedures. Users can flag videos that they believe violate our Community Guidelines. The YouTube team reviews flagged videos 24 hours a day 7 days a week and removes those videos which violate our Guidelines. Users can also file DMCA complaints against unlisted videos that they believe violate their copyrights. We do not allow users with any Community Guidelines or copyright strikes against their accounts to upload unlisted videos.”

The new unlisted option will not change how YouTube will be scanning uploaded videos for terms of service violations. The new option has no real impact on what’s going on behind the scenes. This option is absolutely perfect for situations like Melinda had with her class. You could also use it to share recordings from family events with those who couldn’t join you… or record yourself singing a sappy love song and share it with your significant other.